The Jingu House

The Jingu House Cafe is a delightful cafe located in the Japanese Tea Gardens.  The cafe is open Tuesday through Sunday from 9 am to 4 pm.  The menu includes Bento Boxes, sandwiches, salads, sushi, baked goods.  teas and other beverages.  I sampled a Sesame Chicken Bento Box and hibiscus iced tea.  The Bento Box contained enough food for several people.  I particularly liked the Japanese Noodles.  The flavored ice tea was refreshing, not sweet and lightly flavored.  My companion enjoyed the Thai Beef Salad.  The prices ranged from $6.50 for sandwiches to $12.95 for the Bento Boxes. The outside patio was very hot and sunny when we arrived early afternoon so we enjoyed a table inside. The dining room has six tables with views of the gardens.
Jingu House on Urbanspoon

Bento Box (they were out of sushi so I had double noodles)

Dining Room

View from dining room window

2 responses to “The Jingu House

  1. When the San Antonio Parks Foundation completed the restoration of the house this past fall, the Friends of the Parks held an evening reception there – Sushi and Sake. Paper lanterns provided soft, shimmering light throughout the entire garden, and Fresh Horizons did an incredible job with the food. Hope some of your readers might consider joining Friends of the Parks so they don’t miss finding out about the next Friends’ event there….

  2. I just visited for my birthday and loved it. But I must say, the picture of the bento box above, is much more generous than the portion I received. Next time, I will stick with hot tea and cakes and have a full meal elsewhere. Beautiful location and worth the trip.

Leave a comment