il sogno osteria

il sognoToday I enjoyed lunch at the new restaurant, il sogno, in the Pearl Brewery redevelopment. Following is my version of a restaurant review.

My daughter and I arrived at 11:20 am, 10 minutes before they opened for lunch.  Someone graciously met us and offered us a seat at the bar overlooking the open kitchen.  A small army of chefs was calmly but very quickly working on dishes which were set up for the antipasti bar. We were the first guests to arrive but shortly after 11:30 the restaurant quickly filled up with people.

The lunch menu includes about 15 items, including pizza, pasta, panino, fish, chicken and several salads and desserts.   Prices ranged from $9 for the pizza and the small antipasti to $28 for the cod. We especially enjoyed the antipasti bar which contained at least 10 items.  We selected the Octopus and Potato Salad, Speck and Roasted Vegetables.  These small dishes were served with crostini and were delicious.  The dessert, a nutella tart with chocolate gelato, was also delicious.  We were a little disappointed in our entrees.  My margherita pizza looked delicious and the sauce and cheese were very good.  But the crust had a burnt taste I didn’t like.  My daughter  liked her pasta but felt like the dish didn’t have enough “pow” to justify the $18 price tag.

The restaurant is elegant and comfortable.  The walls have exposed brick and windows overlooking the brewery. Parking is available in front of the restaurant.  The service was great. We had never heard of many of the items on the menu but our server patiently explained what everything was.  A nice touch was offering sliced fruit and berries to add to our water glasses.

Judging by the crowd at lunch I’m sure this restaurant will be very successful.  Following are a few pictures I took while we were eating:

Update (September 30):  Andrew Weissman, owner of Il Sogno, announced last Friday that he is closing his award-winning restaurant Le Reve to spend more time with his family and concentrate his restaurant holdings at the Pearl Brewery.  Chef Weissman will move Sandbar to the Pearl Brewery in October and he plans to open additional restaurants in the Pearl redevelopment.  

July 30, 2009 004

Small antipasti order (we had already eaten some before I remembered to take a picture)


 

 

 

 

 

 

Margherita Pizza

Margherita Pizza

 

 

 

 

 

Dessert

Tortino Alla Nutella

 

 

 

 

 

 

Il Sogno Osteria on Urbanspoon

12 responses to “il sogno osteria

  1. The burnt crust is requisite if you enjoy authentic Southern Italian pizza’s. Foodies will send thanks for the post. Can’t wait to indulge…!

  2. urbanspotlight

    Thanks for the comment. I hope you enjoy il sogno. It’s great to see San Antonio-based chefs and restaurants enjoying success.

  3. The char on the pizza looks great and is a sign of authenticity. I can’t wait to try this place.

  4. My wife and I ate lunch at Il Sogno on Saturday. The wait was short, the staff was excellent and the food brought back the memories of Italy. The cappucino was a bit too hot to drink when it arrived at the table but after a minute or two of cooling it was the best I have had since I was in Italy over 20 years ago.

  5. I just love your weblog! Very nice post! Still you can do many things to improve it.

  6. I have been the il sogno on three occassions and have enjoyed each visit. The panino is delicious, the pizza cheesy, and the gnocchi amazing. The staff and chefs are kind and the environment is very welcoming. I will enjoy many more meals there with my husband and friends. Do arrive early as the tables fill quickly.

  7. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  8. Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so! really nice post.

  9. What I ordered was good what little I got. thought I would at least get a small salad. Would like bread while waiting.too expensive for what I got

Leave a Reply

