Christmas in Fredericksburg

Christmas Pyramid

(Update: The 2010 Holiday Home Tour is on December 11.  Click here for information)

Fredericksburg is a small historic German town located about an hour drive northwest of San Antonio.  My parents live there so I spend most holidays visiting the town.  The day after Thanksgiving the Christmas decorations are lit at the Marktplaz on Main Street.  This year a new addition is a 26 foot tall Christmas pyramid built in Mainz, Germany.   An outdoor ice skating rink – Eisbahn – is open in the Markplatz from November 27 through January 3.

Last Saturday I accompanied my mom and a friend on the home tour organized every December by the Gillespie County Historical Society.  This year the tour included nine private homes and the Grapetown School and Teacherage.  Since the school and several of the homes were located outside of town we had to hurry to see all of the properties in the six hours we were given.  

Home tour

To fortify ourselves we started with an early lunch at Clear River on Main Street.  The restaurant includes a bakery, deli and ice cream counter.  We then drove the tour in my car although a trolley tour is available for an extra charge.    The houses were all lovely but varied widely in size and decorating style.  The most luxurious house on the tour included an airstrip and private plane, swimming pool, hot tub, media room, wine cellar, music room, a large guesthouse and a horse area.  Another interesting house had a large cistern located in the middle of the living room.   The family had turned the cistern into an elegant wine tasting room.  Yet another house was filled with historic clocks which made noise at the top of every hour. Following are pictures from the house tour and Fredericksburg. 

Home tour

Home tour

Clear River deli, bakery and ice cream

Main Street at night

House in Frederickburg

Vereins Kirche in Marktplatz on Main Street

14 responses to “Christmas in Fredericksburg

  1. Great pictures of our tour of homes Deb. You should be writing for Southern Living! The tuba article was good too.

  2. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Alena

    http://largepet.info

  3. the written content on this article is really one particular of the most beneficial substance that We have at any time arrive throughout. I adore your article, I will occur back again to examine for new posts.

  4. I am developing a blog and I was thinking of changing the template.I got some ideas from here! Feel free to visit my blog and suggest things!

    • Thanks for the comment. I tried to click on the website you listed but it didn’t work. If you have another address for your blog please let me know and I will check it out.

      –Debbie

  5. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so here i am!.I am looking for ways to add things to my website!Is it ok if i use some of the things i saw here?!

    • I am using one of the layouts provided by Word Press so the ideas on this website are really theirs. I tried to look at the website you listed but the address did not work. Thanks for the comment.

      –Debbie

  6. Your website is great! This post really caught my eye when I was searching around. Thanks for sharing it.

  7. Nice post and very well written. Thanks for this!

  8. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  9. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Internet explorer. Exceptional Blog!

Leave a Reply

