Friends, BBQ and high school football

Two Bros. BBQ

Two Bros. BBQ

Three of the best things Texas has to offer – friends, BBQ and high school football — came together last Friday night.  I met up with friends at Two Bros. BBQ before the game.  Two Bros. is located at 12656 West Avenue in a small complex across from Walker Ranch Park

Two Bros. is a good place to meet up with a group of people.  You place your order at the front counter and pay at the next counter.  Orders are assembled quickly.  Prices are reasonable since you can order just the amount of meat and side dishes that you need.  Bread, slaw, condiments and sauce are included with every meal.  My favorite items are the creamed corn and the brisket.  My only complaint is that the meat is served on paper and the juice and sauce kept threatening to run off the table onto my white shirt.  A lot of people were enjoying the outside patio despite the smoke from the grill.  Young children were playing happily on the outside playscape. 

After we ate it was time to head for Comalander Stadium to see Churchill take on Reagan.  If you turn left on West Avenue leaving Two Bros. and then left on Nakoma you can be at Comalander Stadium in about 10 minutes and avoid the traffic jam on Bitters Road. 

I’ve now watched eight high school football games in four weeks, going to Churchill’s JV and varsity games.  Every week the games have been closer and more exciting.  The band, dancers and cheerleaders have also impressed me with their polished performances.  Friday’s game was very close but unfortunately my team did not end up in the win column.  The last three minutes of the game were marred by our quarterback getting hurt, a penalty against us, the backup quarterback giving a valiant but unsuccessful effort,  crying cheerleaders and a dad yelling at the refs.  An evening that started out so promising ended on a very low note.   At least we get to pull ourselves together and do it all over again next Friday night. 

 Two Bros. BBQ Market on Urbanspoon
Here are pictures from several different high school football games:

Junior Varsity (JV) game at Marshall High

Junior Varsity (JV) game at Marshall High

Churchill fans (and choir members)

Churchill fans

Cheerleading

Cheerleading

Clark fans

Clark fans

Pep Squad

Pep Squad

3 responses to “Friends, BBQ and high school football

  1. Hello, amazing website you’ve got here, but I needed to tell you as to what might potentially be described as a internet browser compatibility matter. So i am running Windows Vista 32 bit together with Chrome, and the format is screwed up. It’s a tad hard to see certain parts of your blog, and I am running my screen resolution at 1024 x 1024. I believe you didn’t aim for your web-site to seem so weird, so could there be any way you are able to help me correct this problem?

    • Thanks for the comment. I’m afraid your question is beyond my technical capabilities but I will ask someone I know and see if they can help me. Thanks.

      Debbie

  2. I was extremely pleased to discover this site. I need to to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!!

    I definitely loved every part of it and i also
    have you saved to fav to check out new stuff on your blog.

Leave a Reply

